Will Frozen Damage Epcot’s World Showcase?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

UPDATE: Disney have confirmed that a Frozen attraction will replace Norway’s Maelstrom.  The ride will close from oct 5th 2014.  No opening date has been provided.

I never did set out to be a grumpy troll of a blogger.
After all, what could possibly be bad about writing about the theme parks in Orlando?

Well for one, I kind of get a little over protective about our most precious vacation retreat.
Just like every other theme park fan out there, I’m all for change you see, so long as I don’t lose anything that I decide is special to me.

Of course, I rarely take the time to Disney, especially to to let them know about what I may, or may not, allow them to meddle with.

The reason being of course, is that I change my mind daily!

One day I might think that Epcot needs a bit of a family friendly ride,
The next;
I’m quite happy to leave it exactly how it is, so long as I can wander through France with my plastic glass of Champagne in the glorious mid morning sunshine!
Epcot is a chameleon and it does a great job of adapting just to suit your frame of mind!

Over the winter months of 2014 though, huge line waits to ‘meet and greet’ Anna & Elsa snaked right back from the Norway Pavilion to the front of the Mexico Pavilion.
Epcot was going to change forever and this caused many emotions for me;

My first thoughts were; Wow!
Second were; Great to see so many kids at Epcot actually looking engaged!
Third were; Can I bustle my way through those moms and their daughters to get my frozen Margarita fix at that Mexico stall?
But finally; Oh no, Disney are going to do something big with Frozen some time real soon.

To be truthful, Epcot needs a kick up the A**.
Disney’s Tom Fitzgerald is in the process of moving his desk from Disneyland Paris to Epcot to do just that it seems.
Sadly though, the kick up the A** might be the sort that Epcot fans are dreading the most; ‘a fundamental change’.
If rumours about Epcot’s Maelstrom being turned into a Frozen attraction are true, the World Showcase’s ‘essential fabric’ could potentially collapse in a puff of pixie dust as soon as 2015.
But the good news is;

The most likely scenario for a Norway Frozen project won’t be as bad as you think!
As I recently read through news articles and watched how Disney masterfully developed the fabulous Frozen movie (yes I’m a fan!), one thing really did strike me.
Disney had adopted an unprecedented level of research into the Walt Disney Frozen animation.  They spent months in Norway gathering sights sounds and facts to provide an incredibly detailed and authentic feature film.
As a result, lead animator Mike Giaimo probably discovered much more for Disney than anyone could have imagined.

Not only did his team trap the very essence of the classic Disney ‘troubles of life; good over evil, ability and challenge‘, they more interestingly revealed to the world an insight into one of the most magical and deeply mysterious places on earth.
Norway has long been recognised for exploration and conquest, but very few of the Earth’s 7 billion people have ever considered setting foot on this stunning and culturally rich nation’s soil.  Until very recently!
Norwegian hotel bookings are are up 37% this year!

If Frozen does eventually take over Maelstrom over the next 12 months, I predict we will see an even better,  picturesque, yet informative version of Maelstrom.
Still think tasteful, but this time we will be joined by some familiar characters from the movie, for a lighter exploration of beautiful Norway!

Perhaps we could imagine Ellen’s Energy Adventure (without the boredom), hosted by Olaf, Sven, Anna, Elsa and what’s his name.
This is going to be a fabulous adaption of Maelstrom, narrated by Disney’s most successful siblings ever!

Disney aren’t going to mess up Epcot, and Frozen will make it even better!

Leave a Reply

