Can’t Wait for the Seven Dwarfs Mine Train to Open!

SEVEN DWARFS MINE TRAIN DEDICATED AT WALT DISNEY WORLD RESORTWell, today arrived, and I confess to being a little very excited by the prospect of a brand new Disney attraction.
I watched dozens of ride videos, point of view (POV) clips and studied pictures of the inner workings of a fully working Disney Jewel Mine, eager to spot every possible detail about this massive investment inside WDW.

At 7:30 this morning, I dialled into the Disney Parks Blog, just like they said I should and sat, with my Bose headphones on awaiting patiently.
With multi angle shots, and a grey drab sky, Disney worked hard to bring the razzmatazz to the mock timber mine train set that had been temporarily created for the media (I told you I’m not good enough for a Disney invite!).
As Chairman of the Parks, Tom Staggs (or Mr T as I like to thing of him), seemed a little nervous as he talked of the importance of the Mine Train ride as the ‘Jewel in the Crown’.

As I watched, I couldn’t help think; “Really?  A two day press event for this?”.

I wondered throughout, as if Mr T was also thinking along the same lines as me.  The crowd of press hacks and bloggers appeared subdued, perhaps nursing hangovers from free Disney booze, or in the case of the bloggers, more concerned about finding a charge point to top up their mobile devices so that they could tweet and post updates!

I felt a little underwhelmed and, I suspect, Mr T is having a chat with a few people about ‘Bangs for Bucks’ and PR fails.
For me, today’s webcast was just that, a damp squib, a letdown.  See for yourselves.

But wait, there’s more.
A little jaded by the whole press hype thing, I decided to settle down and continue my research for an article on the Seven Dwarfs Mine Train.
The misery continued, perhaps an anti-climax effect, but now that the path though the woodlands is clear, and the enchanted cottage is now almost in reach, I have to ask a question; “Is the Seven Dwarfs Mine Train and New Fantasyland in general, really good enough to warrant four years and half a billion dollars?”  I’ll let you know for sure soon!
But for now, I can’t wait for the ride to open and the hype to silence, but the wait times are going to be next on the blogger’s pages!  More booze and battery power needed to see us all through that!

Take a look and let me know!

Leave a Reply

